top of page

Greer seals 4th NI Rally Championship Title

Pending confirmation of final results, Cathan McCourt and Brian Hoy have won the Carryduff Forklift Down Rally but fourth overall for Jonny Greer (pictured: Graham Baalham-Curry) has sealed a fourth McGrady Insurance N.I. Rally Championship title for the Carryduff driver! Greer entered the rally knowing that he needed a top five points scoring position to secure his fourth success. Navigated by Niall Burns, it transpired to be a tricky day for the crew that saw them overshoot into a field during the fourth stage. After that incident, they did their best to keep their noses clean until the finish, eventually coming home in fourth. “I’m glad to get round!” Greer said. “It’s been a tough year but a good year. We struggled to pick a pace all day and the conditions didn’t help. We just had to concentrate to get to the end and it’s not really enjoyable to do a rally like but it’s been a good year’s work by everybody.” As for the rally winners, Cathan McCourt and Brian Hoy put on a near faultless display as they secured six fastest stage times during the eight-stage event. “It’s been a great event,” McCourt said. “Everything went perfect all day and the car was phenomenal.” Desi Henry and Paddy Robinson finished second overall and claimed maximum NI Championship points but it wasn’t enough to move to the top of the championship tables. They finished comfortably ahead of third placed Jason Mitchell and Paddy McCrudden who had a stunning run on the final stage to set the fastest time and move in front of Jonny Greer. The rally is still in progress. Results are provisional until declared final by the event organisers. Full report later.


bottom of page